Explore the compound
Quick Facts
Mechanism of Action
Retatrutide is a synthetic 39-amino-acid peptide derived from a glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide (GIP) backbone. It is engineered to activate GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptors, with fatty-acid modification used to extend circulation time. Its mechanism of action supports incretin signaling, appetite regulation, glucose handling, and energy-expenditure pathways.
Mechanism of Action: of action supports incretin signaling, appetite regulation, glucose handling, and energy-expenditure pathways.
- Supports major weight-loss outcomes in phase 2 obesity research involving triple GIP/GLP-1/glucagon receptor activity [1].
- Associated with reductions in waist circumference and body-fat burden in metabolic studies [1].
- Shows benefit signals for glucose control and insulin-sensitivity markers [1].
- Investigated for liver-fat and fatty-liver disease endpoints in official clinical-trial programs [2].
- Represents a next-generation incretin pathway approach listed in NIH-indexed literature and trial registries [1][2].
Research Applications & Context
Community-reported protocol schedules.
Research Dosage Information
Reported research quantities and their source context. These are not recommendations, and source status varies.
Scroll the table horizontally to read every column. Select a row to inspect it in the calculator.
1-4: 2 mg Once weekly. 1-4. 5-8: 4 mg Once weekly. 5-8. 9-12: 6 mg Once weekly. 9-12. 13-16: 9 mg Once weekly. 13-16. 17+: 12 mg Once weekly. 17+.
| Phase | Reported Amount | Frequency | Draw Units | Cycle | Notes | Calculator |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1-4 | 2 mg | Once weekly | Select a vial | 1-4 | Community-reported protocol. | |
| 5-8 | 4 mg | Once weekly | Select a vial | 5-8 | Community-reported protocol. | |
| 9-12 | 6 mg | Once weekly | Select a vial | 9-12 | Community-reported protocol. | |
| 13-16 | 9 mg | Once weekly | Select a vial | 13-16 | Community-reported protocol. | |
| 17+ | 12 mg | Once weekly | Select a vial | 17+ | Community-reported protocol. |
Dosing Protocol & Schedule
These are mathematical planning summaries derived from reported rows already in the research library. Community-reported schedules are not clinical or validated protocols, recommendations, or directions for human use.
| Include | Phase | Research Dose | Frequency | Weeks | Entries | Total quantity | Volume per entry | U-100 equivalent |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | 1-4 | 2 mg | Once weekly | — | — | Duration not specified as a fixed number of weeks. | — | — |
| — | 5-8 | 4 mg | Once weekly | — | — | Duration not specified as a fixed number of weeks. | — | — |
| — | 9-12 | 6 mg | Once weekly | — | — | Duration not specified as a fixed number of weeks. | — | — |
| — | 13-16 | 9 mg | Once weekly | — | — | Duration not specified as a fixed number of weeks. | — | — |
| — | 17+ | 12 mg | Once weekly | — | — | Duration not specified as a fixed number of weeks. | — | — |
Plan a Regimen Schedule
Save the selected research protocol to your private calendar. Scheduled entries never create Dose Logs.
Reconstitution Calculator
Select the vial strength you are examining. The reference chart displays examples, not recommended preparation volumes or validated protocols.
Reconstitution Reference Chart
Hypothetical volume comparisons for the selected vial. No particular volume is endorsed, and vial capacity, solubility, excipients and product-specific instructions are not established by this table.
| Example volume | Calculated concentration | Calculator |
|---|---|---|
| 1 mL | — | |
| 2 mL | — | |
| 3 mL | — | |
| 4 mL | — | |
| 5 mL | — |
Choose a compatible dry vial to see reference concentrations.
Research-only mathematical comparisons; not instructions to compound, prepare, or administer peptides. Community-reported protocols are not clinically validated by inclusion here.
Supplies Needed — Estimate
Select a vial strength and an example reconstitution volume below. Counts use only the checked, computable rows above; they are not product-specific sterility, compatibility, or stability guidance.
Select a compatible vial and volume below to view quantities.
Educational and entertainment purposes only. Research use only; not for human or animal administration. Pad counts assume two per Total entry; syringe counts include additional containers where a single entry exceeds the selected syringe capacity. Vial totals assume full theoretical recovery and do not account for dead volume, spoilage, asepsis, expiration, potency, route, or beyond-use dating. These figures are not a recommended supplies list for an actual procedure.
Published References (1 identified)
A recorded identifier identifies a publication; it does not establish that its claims have been independently verified.
- Triple–Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity — A Phase 2 Trial (2023) View source ↗ The New England Journal of Medicine — phase 2 trial · Publisher or publication identifier recorded; claim verification separate
Research indexes & other source links
Searches, registries and unverified source records are discovery resources, not verified published studies.
- PubMed.gov biomedical literature: Retatrutide View source ↗ PubMed index/search · Source link recorded; claim verification separate
- ClinicalTrials.gov study registry: Retatrutide View source ↗ ClinicalTrials.gov registry/search · Source link recorded; claim verification separate
- NIH/NCBI all-databases search: Retatrutide View source ↗ NCBI database/search · Source link recorded; claim verification separate
- PubChem / NIH compound record search: Retatrutide View source ↗ PubChem database/search · Source link recorded; claim verification separate
Peptide Research Collection Library